SPOTLIGHT: MKPjewelry

Name: Kat BarronMiller

Etsy shop name:  http://www.MKPjewelry.etsy.com

Website: http://www.beadfix.com

Blog:  http://mkpbeadart.blogspot.com

Location:  Des Moines , IA

 

1. What kind of materials do you use in your creations?
Everything! beads, glass, crystals, stones, and especially sterling silver! Though I’m quite fond of copper of late…

2. How did you get into this form of art?
Over ten years ago I was at a museum that featured a large collection of Native American beadwork.  It was so beautiful! I bought one of those “toy” looms, and tried it.  I made 1 piece, and I’ve never loomed in the 10 years since, but desire to create stayed.

3. What inspires you? Do you have a plan before you make a piece, or do the
materials “speak” to you?

I sketch, it’s a habit I’ve developed over the last 3 years.  Since inspiration can come from anywhere, at any time, I carry a sketchbook with me.  Even when I think I have a firm idea in my head for a piece, I often sketch it out.  I might find alternative paths that work better, or even discover a completely new design.  Materials do speak to me.  I often will take one or 2 beads and sketch possible designs based on that combo.. I’ve come up with some wonderful designs this way.  It also gives me a visual record of my development as an artist.  And if I’m creatively stuck, I can always go back through my sketches for ideas.

4. Do you have a certain design style?
I think I’m just now finding my creative voice.  I almost hate to say that, as I’ve been making jewelry for over 10 years, but it’s true.  2 years ago I really started to play with wirewrapping, and I have definitively blossomed as an artist. I’m learning metal smithing techniques this year, I’m very excited about combining my love of wirewraping with more traditional metalworking.  I’m filling up my sketchbook fast this year!

5. What is your favorite technique?
Wirewrapping.  I do several different styles and I’m learning more all the time.  It’s utterly fascinating to start out with this little bit of metal and turn and twist it into something wearable.  It’s amazing what you can do with wire.

6. Other than Etsy, where could someone find your creations?
My blog or website, and at regional art shows.  I post my schedule on my website.  For people in the Des Moines, IA area, I can do home parties.

7. What is your favorite part of being a member of EtsyBEAD?
Sharing the bond of creation with like minded individuals.  Creating art jewelry is normally a singular activity, it’s wonderful to be able to share with other creators.

                   

7 Responses

  1. Your woman sculpture is absolutely awesome, your creative voice is clearly ringing through!

  2. Kat – I love the woman sculpture too! Your wire wrapping is superb.

  3. Really unique pieces, especially the woman sculpture! You definitely have developed your own style. Beautiful !

  4. Kat, some of your jewelry really knocks my socks off. It’s awesome.

  5. Awesome jewelry and very well done interview. I love the silver and green earrings.

  6. Beautiful work and nice interview!
    Love that wire piece 2nd from the top!
    Really cool-

    SToNZ
    http://www.stonz.etsy.com

  7. Love the way you use wire in your creations! I know this comment is late, but just had to let you know how much I like your designs!

Leave a Reply

