SPOTLIGHT: Julie’s Jewels

JJs - Aqua Swirl Bracelet and Earring set with Sterling Silver- created with calumeydesigns artisan Lampwork

Name:Julie-Ann Twigg

Etsy shop name: Julie’s Jewels 

Etsy User ID: http://ljjnjm.etsy.com

Blog: http://juliesjewels.wordpress.com

 

Location: Nhill, Victoria, Australia

 

 

1. What kind of materials do you use in your creations?

I love using – Sterling Silver, Gemstones, Artisan Lampwork, Artisan Polymer Clay, Swarovski Crystals to name a few.

 

2. How did you get into this form of art?

I started by doing a few Christmas decorations with cheap plastic beads for family & friends and enjoyed it so much that I took a big breath and jumped in feet first.  Now my office looks like a bead shop…

 

3. What inspires you? Do you have a plan before you make a piece, or do the materials “speak” to you?

I make a lot of pieces from photo’s or a theme – like my new Zodiac series I’m doing (check the blog for more info).  Also I’ll pick up a set of beads and then they will turn themselves into something – maybe not exactly what I had in mind.

 

4. Do you have a certain design style?

I don’t think I have a certain style – it’s just what hits me on a particular day or moment in time.

 

5. What is your favorite technique?

I’m not sure I have one – I create lots of different things and always on the lookout for something new to try and perhaps master.

 

6. Other than Etsy, where could someone find your creations?

Blog: http://juliesjewels.wordpress.com
Ebay: http://stores.ebay.com.au/Julies-Jewels
OZtion: http://www.oztion.com.au/vshops/vshops.aspx?shopid=299

 

7. What is your favorite part of being a member of EtsyBEAD?

The friendship and support that the members give is so rewarding.  I love joining in the sales like EBTW each week and just being around a group of like minded artists.  That’s rare over here in Australia – especially in a rural area.

JJs - Zodiac Series - CANCER - Fresh Water Pearls Bracelet with Sterling Silver     

                                                                        JJs - Zodiac Series - GEMINI - Black and White Agate and Glass Pearls Bracelet and Earring Set

6 Responses

  1. It’s so nice to be able to get to know some of our fellow members a little better.Great spotlight Deronda and Julie!

  2. WOW – Thank-you, this looks great.

    Julie-Ann

  3. What a great feature! Julie-Ann, I didn’t know you were from Australia – I’m so glad we’re doing this to get to know each other better 🙂

  4. As a new member of etsybead it is nicve to see different artists featured and get to know about their inspiration! Look forward to reading more in the future. Julie-Ann your work is great!

  5. Thank-you, etsyBEAD is a truly international group and it’s been fun learning the ropes and trying to work out everyone over the last few months.

    Look like my photos got lost when I removed them from the flickr pool…

    Julie-Ann

  6. Wow… another Australian member. Great spotlight!

    kristy
    http://shinyadornments.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

