Spotlight: Jewel Parlour

flowers-in-a-pot-earrings.jpg

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

peacock-colors-earrings.jpgHi, I’m Michelle Long, aka Jewel Parlour. I am from the little sunny island country called Singapore, and I live here with my hubby and 3 year old daughter. I have been making jewellery for the past 2+ years, have a serious addiction to beads and cannot resist buying more even though my house is stocked full of it already. I guess this should sound familiar to all us etsyBeaders!

What is the first thing you can remember making by hand? How and why did you make it?

That would be the cross-stitch bag that I made for the art exhibition in primary school. I must have been about 10, I think. It was a very simple design, just straight rows of purple flowers on both sides, but I remember painstakingly stitching every flower on. And I didn’t make the whole bag all by myself either, my mum’s friend, who was a seamstress, helped to sew in the lining and straps with the machine. But I was, and still am, very proud of it. I still have the bag, and sometimes I do use it. I think I’ll pass it on to my daughter, and who knows, it might become an heirloom! 🙂

wild-berries.jpgWhat inspires you? Where do your ideas come from?

I would say colors. Colors from nature, beads, flowers, fabrics, magazines, even my daughter’s cartoon storybooks! I would go “oh I didn’t know this color goes so well with that” and then I’ll go try and see how the colors would look as beads. I love to mix and match different colors to see what I can come up with.

What are your favorite materials?

Gemstones, glass beads, charms, polymer clay, swarovski crystals. Sometimes I mix a variety of materials in my creations, as long as the concoctions are pretty and feminine, coz I’m quite the vainpot. 🙂

dreaming-of-autumn-earrings.jpgWhat is your favorite color? What colors are you drawn to?

I don’t think I have a particular favorite color, but I do admit being drawn to autumnal and winter colors more than others, maybe because these are my favorite seasons, although Singapore is a tropical island without seasonal changes, and I have to travel miles on an airplane just to experience autumn and winter elsewhere!

Any pearls of wisdom on selling handmade stuff?

Hmm, this is very difficult, because I am still searching for that success formula! Maybe, a huge dose of perseverance will help?

cherry-garden-necklace.jpgTell us about etsyBEAD! What would you like to see the Street Team doing to help promote you and Etsy?

I think etsyBEAD is a great community of support for beaders. I do enjoy the EBTWs, and I do lurk around the google forums regularly, even though I may not be actively voicing out (I’m a tad shy sometimes :P). But that is what I like about the group too, that you can decide your comfortable level of participation without feeling pressured, and still find support when you need it.

What is your Etsy shop address and name? Where else can we find you?

My shopname is Jewel Parlour – http://jewelparlour.etsy.com. Etsy is my main internet avenue, although I do have a blogspot, and you can also find me (jewelparlour) on Flickr and MySpace too. 🙂

One Response

  1. Wow, another Singapore member. I’m amazed how international this group is.

    Nice write up…

    🙂

    Kristy
    http://shinyadornments.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

