Spotlight: Ms Belle

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m Ginger. First and foremost, I’m a married SAHM to one son who just turned 6 and am human mom to my rescue dachshund, Barney. He’s a standard black and tan longhair. Together, those boys give me more joy (and work) than any mom should be allowed. I’m very lucky to have them in my life.

Being an older first time mom makes things a little tricky but not impossible. I had my son after I hit 40. I never thought I’d ever have kids. I’m clueless most of the time when it comes to raising a boy. Now I know about dogs! I’ve had dachshunds for over 20 years! But kids? …well, let’s just say I ask lots of questions! Lots of late nights and coffee here!!

In my spare time I love to make jewelry. I have a passion for gemstones and a secret desire to someday become a graduate gemologist with the GIA. Maybe someday I’ll get to do that. But for now I enjoy creating pretty things using the nicest qualtiy gemstones I can find. Quality means a lot to me, so if I don’t like it or don’t think it’s up to par, I won’t sell it.

What is the first thing you can remember making by hand? How and why did you make it?

I remember stringing seed beads to make a necklace when I was a kid. I have no idea how old I was or why I was doing it, but I remember the necklace and how much fun I had making it.

What inspires you? Where do your ideas come from?

Everything and everywhere! I’m inspired by nature, patterns and designs, paintings and artwork, but I also find it in books, magazines, music, architecture, and believe it or not, my son! He’s a wonderful source of inspiration sometimes, especially when I take him to the bead store with me. He loves all the colors and textures of the beads as do I. That’s a really good source of inspiration for both of us!

What are your favorite materials?

High quality gemstones and pearls. 

What is your favorite color? What colors are you drawn to?

My favorite color is probably purple. Either that or blue. I’m drawn to blues mostly, but also to red a great deal. Gosh, for such a simple question it’s really hard to decide!!

Any pearls of wisdom on selling handmade work?

Selling on Etsy is hard, really hard. With so much amazing jewelry out there, it’s mind boggling at times. I have no real pearls of wisdom and am always looking for pearls of wisdom myself. Other than trying to make sure your photographs are nice looking (and I struggle a lot with that), I don’t know what to say. I try to list as often as I can and renew items frequently. I try my best to have nice pictures from different angles to show the entire piece, and I also try to make sure I describe the piece as accurately as possible. Hopefully then the buyer is well enough informed that they can make an educated decision about buying something from me.  

Tell us about etsyBEAD! What would you like to see the Street Team doing to help promote you and Etsy?

I really don’t know. Marketing and promotion is not my forte! Maybe somehow we could raise funds to create an advertisement that would appear in a periodical of some sort. That would certainly bring in traffic. But along a different line, we could do something as simple as make some refrigerator magnets that said “EtsyBead” on them. We could use them as promos to put in our outgoing packages along with cards from other members (do a card swap). Also, I love the idea of having a scavenger hunt a few times a year. That’s so much fun.

What is your Etsy shop address and name? What other sites do you have (where else can we find you)?

I’m msbelle.etsy.com (MsBelle ~ Artisan Crafted Jewelry). I’m also on Mintd and Lov.li, and have a shop on DaWanda that has not been updated. I need to do that! I also have a blog at msbelle.blogspot.com. So come visit me there too!

3 Responses

  1. You have some great photos Ginger! very crisp, clear, good color and I like the back grounds a lot. They help “pop” the pieces.

    And your magnet idea is a really really great one ~ it would be cool if you posted it to the Google Group to see if anyone else likes it ~ I’d sign up for a few bucks of etsyBEAD promo items.

    ~Betsy

  2. Thank you for this piece on Ms. Belle.
    I am amazed at the quality she brings to etsy and her jewelry is perfect for where ever you go!

  3. Love the classic look of your work. There are ALWAYS at least 2 or 3 things I want from your shop.

    Nice write up!

    Kristy
    http://shinyadornments.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

