Spotlight: Brenda’s Creations

 

 

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is Brenda. I am originally from Texas, but moved to Washington State 23 years ago to be close to family while I raised my son. I married my best friend almost 9 years ago. My husband is my rock! While I don’t work outside my home anymore due to my degenerative spinal disease, I have had some great office jobs as a Mortgage Loan Servicing Agent, an Accounting Assistant, and a Receptionist for a pest control company. Accepting my health limitations has been tough. I’m very hard-headed and independant, but I’m finally enjoying being at home. Beading has opened a whole new window for me.

What is your Etsy shop address and name?

My address is http://brenda45.etsy.com and my shop is “Brenda’s Creations”.

What is the first thing you can remember making by hand? How and why did you make it?

The first jewelry I ever made was earrings. They were gifts for Christmas in 2006. The first “thing” I ever made was a blouse in 8th grade. It fit perfect if you had one arm longer than the other. 🙂

What inspires you? Where do your ideas come from?

I get inspired many different ways. From nature’s changing colors to seeing different shapes of objects. I love to be challenged. That’s one of the reason’s why I participate in the weekly theme sales.

What are your favorite materials?

That’s a tough question. If I had to pick, I would say brass and copper. I love the way those materials compliment certain beads and gemstones. My favorite gemstone is turquoise!

What is your favorite thing you do with beads?

Make beaded jewelry of course! lol! I love making jewelry, and I really enjoy the designing process too. Choosing the colors and sizes & shapes of beads and combining them with different materials. Then, putting it all together and ending up with something beautiful or fun is just magical to me.

Do you work with other things besides beads?

Yes. I make cards for different occasions and magnets sometimes. I also make my own curtains and pillows.

What is your favorite color?

I love purple! I am also fond of copper, deep red, and green.

Any pearls of wisdom on selling handmade pieces?

I have only sold my jewelry online, except when my Mother-in-law bought a pair of earrings. I would say promote like crazy! Get involved with a team or group and networking sites and participate. Never underestimate your talent, your abilities, and your ideas. No matter your situation, if you want something bad enough, you can make it happen.

Apart from creating things, what do you do?

I listen to music all the time. I go fishing and take drives in the mountains with my husband. I like to go to yard sales and thrift shops. You never know what treasures you will find. I spend time with my family and all of our pets.

Tell us about etsyBEAD! What would you like to see the Street Team doing to help promote you and Etsy?

To me, etsyBEAD is a group of very talented ladies with each their own styles, opinions, and ideas that come together to form this wonderful team. I like what’s happening right now, and I just want our team to keep growing and keep coming up with great ideas to promote eachother. I’m really excited with the contest that is coming up, and I would like to see more of them in the future. I am loving being a part of the best team on Etsy!

2 Responses

  1. Brenda,

    It was so nice to learn more about you. I have to say you have been an inspiration to me and look forward to you prompting me to come on board with the street team.

    I look forward to being apart of this special group of ladies.
    Kindest regards,
    Deborah

  2. B
    your quip about your first blouse project cracked me up. Great spotlight!

    Kristy
    http://shinyadornments.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

